A Fed Up White Middle Class Man!

Since Wednesday morning November 9, 2016 at 1:30 a.m. when Hillary Clinton conceded the election to Donald Trump, the number one news story has been – HOW DID IT HAPPEN?   Personally, I thought both party nominees were too morally corrupt and flawed to be President of the United States, so I did not support either of them.   It was not until I was actually standing in the voting booth that I made up my mind to cast my vote for Donald Trump.   I did not vote for him as necessarily best for the country or because I was against Hillary Clinton.  I voted for him because I was fed up with the entitlement attitudes of so many Americans, I was fed up with both Democrat and Republican politics as usual, and I was fed up with a society where it has become politically incorrect to be a white middle class man.  I voted for Donald Trump because he represented my best chance to be heard.

I believe in diversity.  I believe it is a strength of our nation, and we should do all that is possible to protect and embrace the diversity of all people and their communities.  However, as a white middle class man standing in that voting booth, it suddenly occurred to me I am no longer considered a part of that diversity.  As long as I remain a part of the silent majority, I am tolerated.  Unlike other groups who speak their mind or criminally commit vandalism and violence in the streets when they have a grievance of discontent, as a white middle class man, I would be labeled a racist or bigot if I conducted myself in the same manner.  If Americans truly believe in embracing the diversity all people, why is there such a double standard, and since there is, why shouldn’t I, as a white middle class man, be fed up?

We live in a society where middle class white people, especially men, are scared to speak up for fear of being labeled a hater, a racist, a bigot, or a sexist.  Like any community, the white middle class has its factions that should be stamped out, but overall they are decent hard working people like the majority of people in any other community.  However, there has been a growing feeling among white middle class Americans that they are being taken for granted and ignored.  They feel, right or wrong, they are living under a double standard.  As we have seen throughout history, when ignored or treated unfairly, people tend to act out, cry out, and bust out.  So, there is no doubt the vote for Donald Trump was in part due to white middle class America acting out, crying out, and busting out.  My vote was no exception.

I can’t speak for all white middle class men, but I am fed up with being kicked around, labeled a racist, bigot, or sexist if I dare say anything that may be remotely construed as offensive to someone or some group, lied to by professional politicians, and generally ignored.  I did not vote against Hillary Clinton, against a woman president, against the Democrats, for the Republicans, out of disrespect for women, to ethnically cleanse America, or out of hatred for anybody.  I along with millions of white middle class Americans, both men and women, voted for Donald Trump because he did not ignore us and acknowledged white middle class Americans are as much a part of the diversity of this nation as the Hispanic community, the Black community, the LGBT community, and the Muslim community.  For the first time in years there was someone on the national political scene who was not talking about us or around us, but to us.  Donald Trump rallied the vote of the forgotten to catapult himself into the White House.  That is a truth that cannot be denied.

My dream from the start of the election campaign was for a unified America, but Hilary Clinton walking in Barack Obama’s footsteps was not going to make that happen.  Maybe, Donald Trump can’t make it happen either, but America needed to try something different.  In four years, if he fails to do what he says, or proves he is actually the racist and bigot so many people believe him to be, my vote in the next election will go to someone else, maybe even Hillary Clinton if she should run again.  The bottom line is that this country is not just about the rights of Black, Hispanic, Muslim, or LGBT communities and those communities are not the only ones being dumped on; the white middle class community is also tired of being dumped on.  Believe it or not, all of us have the same enemies:  an economy designed by and for the rich, a media more interested in entertainment and money than news, and professional politicians more interested in personal and party agendas than service to the people.

I am sure there will be those who take exception to what I have said, but believe what they will, I have not said anything that is intended to be racist, bigoted, or outside my right as an American citizen to say.  As a white middle class man, I have the same right as everyone else to speak my piece without being branded negatively by what is positively accepted from the mouths of others, and for that right, I thank the Constitution of the United States of America that embraces the rights and equality of all American citizens regardless of color of skin, ethnicity, lifestyle, religious beliefs, or financial standing.  However, like so many others that voted for Donald Trump, I am tired of being dumped on because I am a man, I am white, and I have worked my butt off to be middle class.

JL

©Jack Linton, November 13, 2016

Leave a Reply

